Need help with lift kit purchase for 2012 JKU

wadsmith42

This is my first post on here, and i havent done any major mods to my jeep since i bought it. i bought it with front and rear bumper already installed, rock sliders, winch, and 18 in rims with 35 in tires. since i am a college student who only works during the summer i want to lift the jeep but mainly on a budget. i found the rubicon express 2.5 in lift which is what i was originally going to get. but then i found a 3.5 in lift that was just a little bit more expensive and i love the look of it. but what i am having trouble finding is what all i need to modify to accompany for the extra inch. i’ve heard that drive shafts and such need increased. but i want to really hear some peoples personal experiences before i pull the trigger on that 3.5 in lift. i don’t have a whole lot of wiggle room when it comes to money so if i need to i will settle for the 2.5 in but i really want the 3.5😂 please help i also saw that the weight of the bumpers effect lift height so i don’t know of that will help me at all but here are some pics of the jeep for reference. thank y’all so much

Last edited:
Reactions: vaffanculo
I have the mindset of save your money and buy it once. Instead of getting it done and then replacing it later, wasting money in the process. I have a 3.5” metalcloak gamechanger on my 14 jku and think it is perfect, tall enough to clear obstacles but low enough to not be tippy in off camber or pitch situations. They account for weight of a modded Jeep with steel bumpers winch etc and you get an actual lift of what they advertise or a little more. I have had other lifts and they sag under the weight.