How big can I go on stock suspension 255/70/R18

Saharalife_

Hi there!

I’m new to the Jeep world and would love some advice on how big I can go on wheels and tires for my 2016 Jeep Sahara on stock suspension. The current wheel dimensions are 32” 255/70/R18.

I’m thinking about getting 33” tires, 275/65/R18. Or Rubicon take offs 32” 285/70/R17. Is this possible?

If you have a similar Jeep and went bigger, how much bigger did you go on stock suspension? Is it safer if I get it lifted/spacers?

Would love some advice! Thank you!
☮️ ✌🏽

I’ve attached some photos of my Jeep and tire comparison.

B9991825-0A0A-498E-B6E6-79CE1118B3EF.png

A53C570B-C850-43AB-86C7-C4637568B74C.jpeg

6D1FD236-2A38-4E35-A2DB-717703C0976A.png

You can go to 35's if you're willing to have some rubbing. A little if it's a mall crawler, a fair bit if it's a rock crawler. Less if you do a bit of trimming.
You're better off adding a lift.
Spacers are evil and must be destroyed.

• Dislike
Reactions: BigAL07
They should fit, that is what my wife had on her Sahara. They rubbed the anti-sway bar and full lock. I installed some washers behind the stop bolt which took care of that. Now she has an entire different wheel setup so the washers have been removed.

Now @Dirty Dog , all spacers are not created equal. I ran Spidertrax for a while and the hub-centric design makes them quite capable and if installed right and maintained, just as solid as any other part bolted on to the Jeep. That said, you are much better off getting wheels with the proper backspacing if you want to run wider tires. 🍻

As far as height, on a 2dr 35's fit easy if you do a little trimming, but you won't have the best articulation.
This is from an old Jp Magazine article... (a little dated and the prices are wrong for anything but "Free" likely :) )

Free
Trim your flares