Lifetime powertrain warranty buyout

I am not a lawyer, but that has always been my understanding as well. They're not in the parts business. They're in the new car business.

Correct! They want to stop making parts as soon as they can because then they can just force people into buying new cars.

Planned obsolesce is a very unfortunate part of the auto industry (and almost every industry for that matter).

Hi everyone,

I am following because I have an '08 Wrangler with an active powertrain warranty. I just had a cracked exhaust manifold that was repaired under warranty. The first dealer that I took it to (that I had been going to for years) didn't seem to want to replace it because they told me it was on backorder and that they would let me know when it came in, and then I never heard from them again. I ended up taking it to another dealer and they fixed it with no problem. They also fixed the oil leak from the oil pan, which was also under warranty. The first dealer used to talk to me about how Chrysler was buying out the warranties, and that they might make me an offer, but I told them that it wasn't an aftermarket warranty and that it was part of the vehicle and included in the purchase price, so they couldn't buy me out. I don't know if that's true or not, but they eventually stopped bringing it up. At that time, they did a lot of warranty work on my Jeep (I don't remember exactly what, but I remember seeing the paperwork and it was about $2800), and then they ended up replacing the neutral safety switch inside the transmission after that. My Jeep has 369,000 miles on it, and is due for it's in-service date was Feb 2008, so it's coming up on it's third 5-year inspection soon. I hope they don't try to back out of it. I have jumped through all of their hoops to maintain it, so they have no real legal reason to cancel their warranty but that doesn't mean they won't try.

Reactions: Threepointsix