JK 3.8 swap to a 4.0 how to?

LTDanslegs

Hi!

I’m posting this because of a close friend of mine.

My friend who can no longer work on cars because of a prior accident. His only vehicle (a 2008 Wrangler) threw a rod. I was planning on putting another 3.8
in for him, but he told me he would like to do a 4.0 swap (presumably out of a cherokee). I’ve been trying to research if this is possible, I’m assuming I would need different motor mounts and probably would need to relocate them, ecu, trans etc.

While I do work on cars, and have for years. I’ve never completed a swap. Additionally I’m not as familiar with jeeps. I work with mostly Toyotas, or German diesels.

Does anyone have any insight they would be willing to share? Maybe I am searching incorrectly on google? Any advice will be greatly appreciated! I do apologize for my complete lack of knowledge, I am mostly self taught, and didn’t grow up around car enthusiasts.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited:
I've researched many diff topics & mods for my Jeep.
TBH I haven't come across anything written about putting
a 4 Litre in a JK.
I do understand many Jeepers cherish the older 4 Litre .
There are some knowledgeable people on this board so
if it's been done I'm sure someone will chime in .
I do honestly think it would be a lot easier to just replace
the 3.8 with another 3.8 crate engine . Good to go .
As the 3.8 is a bit underpowered compared to the newer
3.6 . The 3.8 can be very reliable & last a very long time .

If you took a complete 4.0, transmission, transfer case and computer sure with fabbing mounts and custom drive shafts you could get it running. No idea how you'd do the dash...but with some creativity anything is possible.

I'd think a hemi or LS swap would be far easier...many have gone before you...or as mentioned a 3.8 or 3.6. Hell these days you might want to consider electric...a pair of 120 HP netgain motors hooked to each driveshaft would be awesome.

-Mac