Replacement fender wiring mistake

Joz

Hey y'all.

My boyfriend got new fenders and cut the wrong plug off the wiring harness when he was trying to replace them. He's mechanically inept but goes balls deep anyway, bless his wee jackass heart.

I am an Architect. I am not a mechanic. I am crafty, and I know tools (I can renovate your historic house!). I do not have a Haynes manual. I do not have the vocabulary for a good search of the forum to piece together answers to my painfully basic question(s). I have attached photos, with letters referring to the bits in question.

This SEEMS relatively straightforward, but I know how deep forum rabbit holes can go.

(A) I have the plug off the main wiring harness with about 1/8" of wire left that I'd considered soldering back on to the main harness (see photo with my fat fingers oh my god how am I going to hold all those bits and pieces in place?!). It would be SO MUCH BETTER if I had more wire. So I'm hunting someone's discarded harness piece to purchase, or a part number/name/keyword/identifier to purchase new (can I even do so without purchasing the whole giant harness mess?). Or advice about how else I can salvage this minor disaster.

(B) As far as wiring on the new fender light, I believe I'm supposed to cut off the side marker end plug from the old piece and connect (solder/heatshrink) those newly exposed wire ends directly to the wire ends poking out of the new fender...?

Let me know if I can answer questions or post additional photos/info to clarify the situation.
Thanks much for any insight/support y'all can offer. :)
-Joz (like the shark)

IMG_3564.jpg
IMG_3565.jpg

Last edited:
Can you help me remodel my 1802 house? Kidding. Can you post a picture of the Jeep plug and show the connecting pins inside? I want to see if they're removable.

Reactions: BigAL07