Questions about applying an undercoat

mas08

Hey all...
I want to apply an undercoat on my 2dr JK. I've never done it before myself, and professional shops want to charge several hundreds of dollars.

Questions:
- Is this something recommended to do yourself or should I go professional?
- What spray paint is recommended? I am thinking basic black rustoleum or kyrlon. Do I need soemthing formulated for high heat?
- Can anyone provide a list of which parts to be coated and which to avoid (my guess is moving parts should be left untouched).

Thanks.

Last edited:
I always hear Fluid Film come up everywhere when talking about undercoating.

I brushed it on when I coated my Tj/Jku. This stuff is amazing, it's like wax. Water beads off, snow and slush falls right off. I found a gallon of fluid film last year really cheap and I brused everything that is metal, except brakes. This time around I'm going to get the aerosol and spray the inside of the frames.

Downside of FluidFilm/Woolwax is its a pain to work on stuff afterwards. But it is a great solution (I've only done black Woolwax).

It is certainly doable by a Diy'er. Steps:

1) Power washing the underside, including inside the frame rails and letting it thoroughly dry

2) take a wire brush to any scale rust

3) apply a rust converter

4) Spray Rust-oleum

(EDIT: if using FF/Woolwax, you could probably skip the rust converter and just use the coating)

No need for hi-temp paint. Avoid rubber parts, driveline (axles OK, but take off wheels and tape a garbage bag over the brake/hub assembly), exhaust.

Not hard, just labor intensive. I would recommend a Tyvek suit, too.

Im on par with @JerryD exactly.