Can’t seem to find a leak

TahoeJim

2013 JKU, ~70k miles but well cared for. I'm second owner; purchased last year.

I've noticed occasionally very slight smell to me like burning antifreeze but could be burning something else (I'm not a mechanic but have owned enough used cars to have experienced a few problems...)
Anyway, yesterday took daughter for a 1 1/2 hr hike. I had parked on a down slope, and when I came back there was a 18"x6" wet spot under the front diff, with a light red liquid on top of the diff, dripping off steering stabilizer, and droplets sprayed on the inside of the front drivers side tire.
Did a run for takeout after the hike and when we got home I left it outside to not get fluids in my garage.

No leak on driveway last night, nothing this morning. I'd originally thought transmission or steering due to reading this forum. However, turns out my antifreeze is also red! Could not see anything obvious and all runs fine. Still have antifreeze in the reservoir, tho maybe needs a small top-up.

I'm stumped as I'm not seeing anything obvious. anyone here have any ideas? Driveway is a gentle up slope if that matters. I just can't understand why I'd have big spot of fluid in the hills and nothing at home (only difference being the parking slope I brought up). I can just keep driving until the problem becomes obvious but that makes me nervous....
Maybe some has seen this before?
6BC95D85-7710-4ED7-8164-4D03254D8CBB.jpeg

That's probably antifreeze, look to see if it's running down the sides of the block or front of the engine.

Reactions: mrjp
I suspect a coolant reservoir overflow, especially if it's coming from the driver's side. Notice any difference in the temp, or have you recently done a coolant flush or had any service work done? Really sounds like too much coolant in the system.

Reactions: mrjp