What all should be replaced when you do a head gasket

Aarin208

I’m going to be replacing the head gaskets on my 2018 JK unlimited sport currently I have about 52,000 miles on it. Is there any suggestions of other parts that I should preemptively change while I do the head gasket and any thoughts about aftermarket versus OEM?
So back story on this, my thermostat failed, it blew apart and and the retaining washer got sucked up into the water pump and made its way into the radiator and punctured a hole into it.
My wife wasn’t paying attention it over heated. She limped it home about two miles. I’m not 💯 certain the head gaskets blown I figured while I’m in here doing the water pump, radiator, oil cooler transmission cooling hoses 🤦‍♂️
I should just do the head gaskets now rather than put it back together to find it’s blown and have to tear it all back apart.
I’m a novice at this so any advise is well received!
Here’s the guy I found in the radiator

IMG_0395.jpeg

Last edited:
I’m going to be replacing the head gaskets on my 2018 JK unlimited sport currently I have about 52,000 miles on it. Is there any suggestions of other parts that I should preemptively change while I do the head gasket and any thoughts about aftermarket versus OEM?
So back story on this, my thermostat failed, it blew apart and and the retaining washer got sucked up into the water pump and made its way into the radiator and punctured a hole into it.
My wife wasn’t paying attention it over heated. She limped it home about two miles. I’m not 💯 certain the head gaskets blown I figured while I’m in here doing the water pump, radiator, oil cooler transmission cooling hoses 🤦‍♂️
I should just do the head gaskets now rather than put it back together to find it’s blown and have to tear it all back apart.
I’m a novice at this so any advise is well received!
Here’s the guy I found in the radiator

View attachment 128102