3.8 valve train issue

MikeSW214

First off hello. Been a jeep fan and builder and overlander since I was in HS many moons ago. I owned '76 cj5 golden eagle ( wished I still had that one) an 70' Kaiser v6 CJ5,l. '86 cj7,That was a major build with a fiberglass body to port 350 head p435 trains Dana 300 transfer case. 1997 TJ 44 axle swaps geared on 35s. Then I decided I wanted a four-door. So I bought 2008 Sahara with an automatic. And we put quite a bit of miles on this thing For the most part it's been a good Jeep.

So is there Jeep/ Chrysler tech in the group?

First I am not your average Tech. I have been a Factory trainer for GM, Navistar, FPT, And OEM Supplier Bosch. I currently teach a Heavy-duty Diesel and Equip. Program for GBC. I specialize in Fuel control diagnostics. But I Got one here that has me a little perplexed. My ’08 JKU this thing and a motor R&R about 40k ago under warranty from Mopar. Few weeks ago, I started this thing up in the am an was running like crap. Flashed the CEL with a P0300 (multi misfire). The day before this thing purred like a kitten and towed my boat home from the lake. Not following my own teaching I threw a few parts at it (cam, crank sensors and coil pack) with no luck. Rule number one- Cant fix a drivability issue on a bad motor. Always verify compression/ condition. Did a relative compression check saw some abnormalities, so Did a static. 1 and 2 cylinder was very low ( 80 one and 30 the other) so I thought burned exhaust vales ( 3.8 common issue) pulled the top end down to the heads. Pulled valve cover off right bank and #2 exhaust push tube was out from under the fulcrum ? kinda said WTF? Pulled the left cover same thing on #1 but intake.

Have any of you Tech seen this in the 3.8 or its little brother 3.3? if so what was the issue and the fix.

So I know lifters are and issue with the 3.8. never had any noise before. Could this be a lifter issue
I haven’t rotated the motor yet to determine cam issue/ lobe.