2008 JKU Overheat and Won’t Start

JGG

2008 JKU overheated and now it won’t start. After cooling down, tried starting and I get one click and nothing. Any advice is appreciated.

Have you tried to turn the engine over with a breaker bar using the crankshaft bolt? It could be locked up.

Have you tried to turn the engine over with a breaker bar using the crankshaft bolt? It could be locked up.
This is my fear- I did and I couldn’t turn it. I’m new to Jeep’s and am not sure how easy it should turn over with serpentine and plugs in. Going to try with plugs out and see. Question- if it did eat itself, should I get much more obvious signs? I have no leaks, no oil coming out exhaust, and engine oil looks good. If it seized I would have expected signs of catastrophic engine failure.

I know the cylinder heads are aluminum but not sure of the block, from what I heard it doesn't take much to ruin a aluminum engine.

How hot did it get? I can turn a 6 cyl diesel engine over by hand and it has more compression then these engines do. If you can't turn it over with the plugs out then i'd say the engine is done for.

I know the cylinder heads are aluminum but not sure of the block, from what I heard it doesn't take much to ruin a aluminum engine.

How hot did it get? I can turn a 6 cyl diesel engine over by hand and it has more compression then these engines do. If you can't turn it over with the plugs out then i'd say the engine is done for.